The Histiocytosis Association, in conjunction with the Histiocyte Society, is offering an annual prize for the best clinical article at the Annual Meeting. It will be given in honor of Dr. Mark Nesbit, renowned pediatric oncologist, teacher, and supporter of the many families dealing with histiocytic disorders. The prize will be awarded to a physician or scientist who is carrying out clinical research to the therapy, biology or pathogenesis of one of the histiocytic disorders. The goal of the Award is to stimulate and promote the activities of clinical scientists from all around the world to study specific aspects of these puzzling diseases.

Dr. Mark Nesbit completed his medical training at George Washington Medical School in 1959. The remainder of his medical training was at the University of Minnesota where he specialized in pediatric hematology and oncology. In 1967 he joined the faculty at the University of Minnesota, achieving the rank of Professor of Pediatrics in 1973. Dr. Nesbit assumed the position of Director of the Division of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology at the University of Minnesota where he built one of the most productive and nationally recognized programs during his 14-year tenure. Professor Nesbit has been a leader in the development of clinical research for the treatment of leukemia and has a special interest in histiocytosis, bone tumors and the late complications of cancer survivors. In addition, Dr. Nesbit has helped countless young investigators with their careers in the field of pediatric hematology and oncology.

Of the contributions made by Professor Nesbit towards better understanding of the histiocytic disorders, we highlight the following three:

  • Histiocytic disorders have been a continual interest from the onset of Professor Nesbit's career. His first publication was entitled: "Histiocytosis X".

  • Dr. Nesbit played an important role in the organization of the Histiocyte Society. Besides his active input in the Epidemiology Study Group of the Histiocyte Society, he served on the Education Committee. His interest and initiative for increasing the activity and visibility of the Histiocyte Society has been an important part of the Society's evolution.

  • Dr. Nesbit has been an active member and participant as a Board of Trustees member of the Histiocytosis Association. His activities in the Association have made him a national source of information on the diagnosis and treatment of histiocytosis. In 1990, Professor Nesbit received the Outstanding Investigator Award from the Histiocytosis Association.

In conclusion, Dr. Nesbit has made substantial contributions to research in the field of histiocytosis. His dedication to the organization of interested investigators has resulted in a strong research agenda to better understand the etiology, diagnosis, treatment and long-term outcome of children with Langerhans cell histiocytosis. His compassion for patients and their families has always been evident, by his willingness to consult with both physicians and family members.

The Histiocytosis Association and the Histiocyte Society thought it entirely compatible with the support and the work of Dr. Nesbit within the world of the histiocytic disorders to offer this prize in his name. The candidates for this Award need not be physicians, but the focus of the work should be on some aspect of the histiocytic disorders, be it in clinical medicine, allied pursuits such as nursing, psychology, social work, occupational therapy, etc.

Judgment will be based on a written abstract describing work done by the candidate him/herself. It is understood that the winning abstract may have co-authors, but that the first author must be the major contributor who is awarded the Nesbit Award. The Program Committee will provide time during the Annual Meeting for presentation of the winning paper. The decision by a special committee of the Histiocyte Society will be based on scientific content, originality, relevance and organization of presentation. The prize will consist of $500 US Dollars and a certificate.

2017 Recipient

Elena Sieni
A. Meyer Children's University Hospital

2016 recipient

Development And Initial Validation Of The “Mh Score”, A Diagnostic Tool That Differentiates Primary Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis From Macrophage Activation Syndrome

Francesca Minoia
Istituto G. Gaslini - Genoa, Italy

2015 Recipient

Increased Risk of Cancer in Female Relatives of Patients with Primary Defects in Lymphocyte Cytotoxicity

Alexandra Löfstedt
Karolinska Institutet - Stockholm, Sweden


Histiocyte Society
332 North Broadway - Pitman, NJ 08071
Phone: +1 856.589.6606 | Fax: +1 856.589.6614
Privacy Policy

Copyright 2018 Histiocyte Society